September 13  brought HONOR and JOY again for the Philippines, because our very own Shamcey Supsup was 3rd Runner-up at the Ms. Universe pageant. It truly brought pride, honor and joy to our beloved Philippines, because we were once again included in the countries that have the Most Beautiful Individuals.

Apart from the joy of winning 3rd Runner-up, was the joy of Shamcey’s answer to the Q&A portion of the pageant. For me it was one of the best answers that I have heard in my entire life because she did not compromised her faith, she did what she felt was the right thing to do and that is to honor God.

Nowadays so much emphasis is given on LOVE, and to be specific ROMANTIC LOVE. TV Shows, Movies, Books all show how LOVE is very powerful, how it change things and how it can have an impact to a person’s life. Yes it is true, LOVE is really powerful. GOD even said that LOVE is the greatest (1 Corinthians 13:13 “And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.” ), but sadly that power is not properly used, where PEOPLE will really do anything for LOVE, for ROMANTIC LOVE.

The question on Shamcey ( “Would you change your religious beliefs to marry the person that you love why or why not?”) was really very timely, because nowadays that’s the norm where people will just do anything for the person they love. From FAITH switching, to CRIMES, to ADULTERY, to SUICIDE..they will really do everything.

Doing bad things for love, is not TRUE LOVE, compromising things for love is not TRUE LOVE. Jesus said in 1Corinthians 13:6-7 that ” Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres”.

Shamcey was really right when she said that “If I had to change my religious beliefs I will not marry the person that I love because the first person that I love is God who created me, and I have my faith, my principles, and this is what makes me who I am, and that person that loves me, should love my God too.”.

God 1st loved us, God is our ONE great LOVE and our TRUE LOVE so why compromise HIM? The Bible says in Matthew 6:33 “Seek ye first the Kingdom of God”, so in Romantic LOVE we should seek God FIRST, we should put ALWAYS put HIM FIRST.

Shamcey showed us in that short answer how we should deal with relationships. That we should keep the faith no matter what, we should stand by our principles because that’s who we are and we should all LOVE the LORD 1st before loving others.

I am not a big fan of the Miss Universe Pageant, but I see to it that I give full support  to the candidate of the Philippines every year, but actually this time I really felt that something is different in Shamcey, that she is one of a kind, that she can probably win it, so I voted for her online, was updated via Twitter and FB and somehow participated in discussions about her.

I was right about Shamcey, she is really something, she is really one of a kind. Although she didn’t win it all, but she truly captured everyone’s heart especially Christians all over the universe, because she kept the Faith and Honored God even if it means not winning the title.

“Question: Would you change your religious beliefs to marry the person that you love why or why not?

Shamcey’s Answer: “If I had to change my religious beliefs I will not marry the person that I love because the first person that I love is God who created me, and I have my faith, my principles, and this is what makes me who I am, and that person that loves me, should love my God too.”

To GOD be the GLORY!

About Ace!

Technology Transfer and Business Development Officer Office of the Vice Chancellor for R&D, UP Diliman Organizational communication Graduate University of the Philippines Manila President - QCPACE- UMYF Vocalist- Footlong, Rapid Pagongs Member- ALAB Judah and PUMC Worship team

3 responses »

  1. tjbuena says:

    nice! true that! one should never forget his/her First Love.🙂

  2. Ren DC says:

    It’s nice to know that in this day and age, the youth still have hope in the form of one Ms. Shamcey Supsup. I think you pretty much summed up all the things that make her the perfect role model, children and adults alike. Great post, Ace!🙂

Leave a Reply

