img_20161119_2235014 Months ago me and my wife were planning about our son Zechariah’s 1st bday party and dedication. We were also planning about our vacation and other family events that we were excited about.

4 Months ago, I was in a meeting regarding a big project involving our team, the World Intellectual Property Organization and the Intellectual Property Office of the Philippines that will start early 2017. In that project, trainings and fellowship programs in Korea, Japan and Switzerland were lining up for my career advancement and expertise building.

3 Months ago, my team and the administration were already planning for the expansion of our team and for promotion for all of us in line with this enhancement.

3 Months ago, I was on track in finishing my masters degree and in finishing all short courses that I need for my career.

3 Months ago, my project with DOST is already being planned and a fellowship program in UK in line with this project was also being mentioned to me to further enhance my skills as project leader.

These were all my plans 3-4 months ago but barely 2months ago my son was diagnosed with Biliary Atresia, a rare-liver disease (https://www.cincinnatichildrens.org/health/b/biliary) that will affect his over-all health and lifestyle and will also affect the lives of everyone around my son and that especially includes me and my wife. Now all the plans that I mentioned will have to be put on hold or for some will be written off permanently. I will need to put-on hold my career plans and aspirations. I will need to delay or even delete all of these things for the benefit of my son and my whole family. Honestly, it is tough to delay or delete these things because I’ve been praying, working and dreaming of these for the last 5 years of my stay in my current work. At di ako magpapaka-plastic na aminin pero mahirap iwanan tong mga ito and cliche as it may sound but I believe God has better plans for me and my whole family. I may not see it now but definitely will in the near future.

When I was reflecting about this sudden change in my career, I was reminded by this verse in Luke and in Titus about being a father and a leader of the family;

Luke 11:11-12 What father among you, if his son asks for a fish, will instead of a fish give him a serpent; or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion?

Titus 1:6 If anyone is above reproach, the husband of one wife,[d] and his children are believers[e] and not open to the charge of debauchery or insubordination. 

It is my christian duty to be a good father first before anything else and right now for my family, being a good father means putting on hold (or deleting) my career plans to prioritize the needs of my family by being “hands-on” on my son’s fund raising and monitoring of his health. Being a good father means  taking care of my wife and being sure that I will be beside my wife and putting on hold (or deleting) my travel plans for the next years until the time that my son will be normal again and our family’s lifestyle will be normal again. Being a good father means thinking of career changes that will ensure maximum benefit to my family in terms of spiritual, emotional, physical and financial well being. And lastly, being a good father means submitting to God everything and trusting Him in all situations.

Right now it is neither about my career ladder, nor about my legacy in the field but right now it is about leading my family into our battle against biliary atresia. I am not really sure when will our battle end and on how will it end but one thing is for sure and that is God is already ahead of us in this battle (Deuteronomy 31:8 It is the LORD who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.) and that’s already enough reason for us to trust God and be joyful.

This may also be my last post for this personal blog that I am maintaining for the last 7 years as I am planning to delete (or abandon it for now) this to focus on the blog that I am planning to put up for my son Zechariah.

The future may seem uncertain right now for my career and most especially to my family  but I am always comforted by this verse from the Prophet Zechariah.

Zechariah 10:12 – I will strengthen them in the LORD and in his name they will live securely,” declares the LORD.” 

Thank you Lord!

About Ace!

Technology Transfer and Business Development Officer Office of the Vice Chancellor for R&D, UP Diliman Organizational communication Graduate University of the Philippines Manila President - QCPACE- UMYF Vocalist- Footlong, Rapid Pagongs Member- ALAB Judah and PUMC Worship team

Leave a Reply

